31 day blog challenge (Day 4)

Day 4 of my super blog challenge! I am really enjoying this. Each question does make me think, which is great fun.

Today’s question is: What are you afraid of?

This is an easy one for me. Aside from spiders, which I mentioned in a previous post, my biggest fear in life – easily – is losing people I love. This is a crippling anxiety, and one I have struggled with for most of my adult life. I have this constant worry, every time a member of my family goes away on holiday, or out to a nightclub, I fear something will happen. If someone I love says they will be home by 11… if they haven’t entered the house by 11.01 I will presume they’ve died a horrible death. The more the minutes tick by, the worse my imaginings. If there was one thing I would change about myself, it would definitely be this.

Still, I guess this just means I care very deeply for those important to me.

This is a short post today as there’s not much more to say about my fears! Aside from this and spiders, I would say I am a huge wuss about anything dangerous, such as rollercoasters, skydiving, bungee-jumping, paragliding and anything else of such an insane nature. I should make an effort to do more things that scare me. You only live once after all!

Come back tomorrow for day 5 of my challenge!

Thanks to all my new subscribers!

2 thoughts on “31 day blog challenge (Day 4)

  1. Okay, so maybe my fear of spiders isn’t so irrational. Many others seem to be right there with us – LOL.
    And I totally get what you said about worrying about those you love. I have had dreams about something happening to my boys and woke up in sweat, heart pounding and not able to sleep. Hell, I even hijacked my oldest boy’s online gaming account after one dream because I was convinced the “bad guy” had found him via the internet. Took about a week and a half of the ex and my son reassuring me that he wasn’t giving out personal info on the game before I let him have his account back.
    That’s the down side to being a writer with a vivid imagination. It can get a little outta control sometimes.

    • I totally get that. It’s my one worry about having children, is how obsessively worried I would be. I am such a worrier, it’s a terrible condition to have. I wish I was more carefree, happy-go-lucky instead of always assuming the worst. It’s not only our vivid imaginations, but also all the doom and gloom on the news, in papers and on radio!

Leave a Reply

