Setting my mood….

Irish instruments!

I will soon be starting a short story set in Ireland. Details to follow.

 

Whenever I sit down to write, I always select music that best sets my mood. Whilst writing ‘Stolen Nights’ my audio player had a continuous loop of instrumental Indian music (sitars and tablas), and a random collection of Hindi and Tamil pop. Then, if I was writing about New York, I would play jazz and Michael Bublé because those are the songs that most remind me of the time I spent there. I love music, as I have mentioned before. It is remarkable how my mood can be set by it, and how I can be transported from my desk at home to an exotic location just by the beat of a drum or the strum of an Indian sitar.

 

In preparation for writing about Ireland, I already have a whole playlist selected. For example, the whole score to the movie Titanic is filled with interesting hints of Celtic music – the eerie melancholy, the haunting notes. I enjoy being able to vividly imagine places based on the music I am listening to – and I suppose a healthy imagination helps, too! Sometimes I wonder where my writing would be without music because, when I think about it, there is always something playing in the background when I am pottering away at the keyboard. Sometimes I don’t hear it at all, but it’s always there.

 

Right now, I am listening to some classical. Who knows what inspired that notion! I definitely think I have the most random and varied taste in music. Upon looking through my track listing, I discovered I have songs in: English, French, Tamil, Hindi, Spanish, Italian and even one song in the most obscure language Konkani – and those obviously don’t include the instrumental ones! I sense that some Irish ones will be installed shortly!

 

I’m off to plot and plan now, and maybe get some writing done! 🙂

 

Love,

Rea x

4 thoughts on “Setting my mood….

  1. When I’m on a roll with my writing I get so lost that I don’t see or hear much that’s going on around me. I usually like to have music playing in the background just to screen out the “real world” but I haven’t used it to set the tone for my writing.
    Do you ever listen to Enya? I got addicted to her about 10 or 12 years ago – the ex even bought me a box set so I have a TON of her music. It’s very soothing and has a Celtic flair.
    Unfortunately I’m a bit of a multiple-personality when it comes to music – I have everything from show tunes to Michael Buble to Nickleback to Five Finger Death Punch.
    I’m totally excited about the Irish short story idea!

    • Hiya Deanna! Thanks for reading the aule blog, aka ‘the place where I ramble’!

      I LOVE Enya. She is a credit to Irish music, and her work is just so mystical. My favourites are “Love Song”, “Storms in Africa”, “Waterfall” and “Evening Falls”. They will also be on my track list for when I start the story!

      You’re just like me then, with your eclectic taste in music! Since you have never used music to set the tone, you should try it with Enya when you start writing for our project! 😀 I’m really excited about it as well. Anything you need, give me a shout!

      Much love,
      Rea x

  2. I get you, Rae. Since starting this Irish theme, I’ve been searching through my music for Celtic cds, and trying to find my Loreena McKennitts.

    And You Tube is mucho helpful for mood music.

    • Yeah, I have been really using YouTube for inspiration! You should totally get listening to some Enya… there is nothing more Celtic sounding than her music. She totally pins down the whole misty, haunting atmosphere. It’s amazing for me to actually be doing this project because I never write about home… but there have been so many times when I have thought that Ireland is such a magical place. It’s been great brainstorming with everyone, too… definitely helps to motivate me! Try this:

      The photographs used in this are also incredibly wonderful!

      Rea x

Leave a Reply

