Things I want in a hero…

Heeelllloooo....

Let me express that I am being incredibly shallow here, okay? I’m not trying to be profound. I think we all have a bit of shallowness in us, don’t we? Let’s not lie… we enjoy romantic heroes in movies because they look damn good. For example, in my novel Stolen Nights, I have always said if I could pick any man to play him in a movie (yeah, I was dreaming big, but it’s always good to have a solid image) I would pick the incredibly attractive (drool worthy…) Indian actor John Abraham. (See picture). However, aside from an astoundingly good bone-structure and eyes that imply all the naughty things he’d like to do, there are a few other things I want my hero to have:

 

1: A good dress sense. I like a man who wears a tie. I don’t know why. Perhaps it is because power is implied, and there is something sexy about a man who is in command, knows what he wants, isn’t submissive etc. I also love a  man in a suit – and not just the first ill-fitting suit he can find, but a well tailored suit that hangs upon his shoulders as though Rapunzel spun the threads herself. The tie should be silk, the shirt fine cotton. Dunno why.

 

2: Good shoes. I have an interest in shoes, even on men. The shoes should definitely do the fine suit justice. No point in ruining a good piece of attire with bad kicks, right?

 

3: Languages. A man should speak them. The more the better. I like an intellectual man – a reader, a learner and therefore the more languages in a hero’s arsenal, the better. His appeal goes up the harder the language is to speak. My boyfriend speaks Malayalam, which is his mother-tongue. You can see what that particular language looks like in the photograph. It is as complex when spoken verbally as it is when it is written down. Sometimes when my boyfriend speaks, I imagine there are no spaces between the words. If I wanted to say

I have literally no idea what it says...

“I don’t speak Malayalam” then phonetically, it would look something like this: “Enikku ‘Malayalam’ samsaarikkan ariyilla”. Now… if I was able to say that without too much strenuous activity for my tongue, wouldn’t I be able to speak Malayalam anyway, making the whole phrase a moot point?

 

4: Play a musical instrument. The piano or the cello, preferably. I love music and I cannot imagine living in a world without it. These two instruments can evoke so many emotions in me, so if my John Abraham look-alike hero was able to play an instrument then he would be the ultimate bloke, really. If I had to pick, I’d say the cello. There’s a brooding, seriousness to the cello that would make my handsome hero so much more mysterious.

 

So what about you? What do you like in a romantic hero? Or gentlemen, a heroine? (I sense the men will have less requirements than us ladies!)

 

Much love,

Rea x

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things I want in a hero…

  1. YOWZA, that guy in the photo is HOT!!!! I agree with you about a guy who dresses up is sexy. I wouldn’t want my characters in suits and ties, but I appreciate the metrosexual look–like dark, denim jeans, sweater, buttoned shirt. Flip flops, I don’t know why I have an obsession with those. I guess I like my male characters to have nice feet LOL.

    I also agree with playing an instrument is sexy. I like when my male characters know how to play the piano or guitar.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

  2. Isn’t he totally delicious? I would eat him up for breakfast and then regurgitate him just so I could eat him again for lunch! Haha!

    I agree with all your likes, too! I think metrosexual is very attractive. There’s nothing wrong with a man who makes an effort with his appearance! Not one who takes longer to get ready than me… but somewhere in between. I don’t know about flip-flops, because I don’t really think about feet… although if a nice pair presented themselves to me, I’d probably notice! LOL!

    Thanks for the comment, Yawatta!

    Much love,
    Rea x

Leave a Reply

